Aquabladz New Plymouth is the result of a merger between Aquabladz Taranaki Swimming Club & New Plymouth Aquatics Swimming Club in August 2013. Aquabladz NP caters for competitive and non-competitive members. It works in synergy with Team Aquabladz which is the competitive swim squad run by head coach Sue Southgate.


New Plymouth Aquatics Swimming Club History


New Plymouth Aquatics Swimming Club was founded in 1993 by a group of swimmers from New Plymouth Old Boys Surf Club who wished to compete in swimming events.

Founding members David Wright, Steve Ander, Bronwyn Read, Colleen Riddock, Donna Parkes, Russell Gayton, Sarah Hamilton and Lorraine Penman started the Club in 1993 along with the help of the then Club Patron Ian Russell MBE (deceased).

Ian Russell (MBE) was a prominent member of Taranaki Swimming being President from 1964-1973 and a Life Member, was a National Grade Referee, a Life Member of Swimming New Zealand including being President of NZASA in 1974 (now Swimming New Zealand), a Life Member of the New Plymouth Aquatics Swimming Club, and a Life Member of New Plymouth Old Boys Surf Lifesaving Club, Convenor of the Flannagan Cup 1984-1993 and involved with Sportsperson of the Year 1964-1993.